AUTOCROSS INFORMATION

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Autocross is driving as fast as you can in a safe and controlled environment.  The course is temporary (often in a parking lot) and tight (using cones to mark the exact course)  and emphasizes handling over raw speed – thus runs are relatively low speed.

2018 Autocross Schedule:

Akron Sports Car Club Autocross at Dragway 42

The Competition Calendar has been updated (5/29/2018) with a revised schedule for autocross events sponsored by Akron Sports Car Club (ASCC) and held at Dragway 42 in West Salem, OH.    Event 6 has been rescheduled to Saturday September 22, making a two day autocross event, with Event 7 on Sunday September 23.  Please continue to check the ASCC facebook group for current updates on schedule and times https://www.facebook.com/groups/akronsportscarclubforum/.

Generally Tech inspection and registration open at 8AM.   Note that this year you cannot use tape for your car number and class.   On-line Registration is available at https://www.motorsportreg.com/ (you will need to set up an account with MotorSports Reg).

ASCC Event 1 – Sunday, April 15
ASCC Event 2 – Sunday, April 22
ASCC Event 3 – Sunday, May 13
ASCC Event 4 – Sunday, May 27
ASCC Event 5 – Sunday, July 22
ASCC Event 6 – Saturday, September 22 (REVISED DATE)
ASCC Event 7 – Sunday, September 23
ASCC Event 8 – Sunday, October 14
ASCC Event 9 – Sunday, October 21
ASCC Event 10 – Sunday, October 28

NE Ohio Region Sports Car Club of America:

Events are held at the Lake County Captain’s overflow parking lot at the corner of Som Center and Vine  in Eastlake,  OH.  Registration & Tech 8:15 – 9:15, course walk 9:30, first heat 10:30, second heat after lunch break.  This is the “classic” autocross – cones mark the course in a parking lot.  The course is shorter than ASCC, but there are fewer drivers.  Please check for updates to schedule on NEOH SCCA schedule page.  On-line Registration is available at https://www.motorsportreg.com/ (you will need to set up an account with MotorSports Reg).

SCCA Training & Event #1 Sat & Sun May 19 – 20
SCCA Event #2 Sunday, June 3
SCCA Event #3 Sunday, June 24
SCCA Event #4 Sunday, July 15
SCCA Event #5 Sunday,  Aug 12
SCCA Event #6 Sunday, Sep 9
SCCA Event #7 Sunday, Sept 30
SCCA Event #8 Sunday, Oct 21

 

Introduction to Autocross

Rich Velardo has prepared several documents that together are a very through introduction to competing at the autocross held by Akron Sports Car Club (ASCC) at Dragway 42.   In addition, there are links to the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) rulebook governing autocross events and details of what cars are in what classes.  Please click on the following links to get prepared for autocrossing.

1.  Introduction: Autocross at Dragway 42

2.  Miata Classification Guide for Autocross 

3.   Quick Reference to Autocross Prep

4.   Autocross Arrival Guide

5.  Other Information about Autocross at Dragway 42

6.   Video of a run by Rich Velardo in his Miata at Dragway 42.  This “driver’s eye” view of an autocross run shows the course is so much nicer and faster than the normal “sea of cones” at most autocross events.

 

Connecting Miata Enthusiasts in North & Central O-H-I-O since 1990